Mind Blown Pinterest Success

Waterstain Removal

I’ll start off by saying that I have attempted MANY Pinterest DIYs and recipes. I love Pinterest. Who doesn’t? This meme is probably so true though, and we’ve likely all been duped.

fd97018b9a0922f19b517e90badd2276

I was never a big fan of cooking or baking… and now I get super excited to try new recipes. For that reason, I’m going to start a section for this blog that will highlight some #pinterestsuccesses and #pinterestfails (I’ve had many of both).

This past week, I nearly pissed my pants with excitement over a much needed life (furniture) saving solution. I kid you not…. when this chemical free solution started washing away my problem, I almost fell on the floor. I ran around my dining room like a giddy school girl who just received a sideways glance from the captain of the hockey team. It’s true… this kind of stuff excites me these days.

This magical pinterest find, was a WATER STAIN REMOVING SOLUTION FOR WOOD FURNITURE!! Let’s rewind.

A few months ago, I was so incredibly lucky to inherit some absolutely beautiful dining room furniture circa 1950s. I had been looking for YEARS for the perfect dining room Buffet and could not find one that made my heart flutter. If I did find one, then the price tag usually made me vomit in my mouth. So, when these pieces came into our lives, it was Love at first sight.

11717039_10101118675314221_1468041918_n

Over the Holidays, I had one of those fake snow batting things on top of this for decor. Then I had a Poinsettia. Well….. this was a big mistake because then THIS HAPPENED. <Insert my crying face here.>

IMG_4035

However… PINTEREST TO THE RESCUE. I found this link. 

I tried Step 1. Failed. Step 2. Failed. Step 3… JACKPOT.

I mixed equal parts baking soda to toothpaste and here’s the outcome.

I tried a small patch at first to see if it would work, and I’ll be damned. The water stain started to come out, as if it were MAGIC. I used an old raggedy white face cloth and some elbow grease. It did take a bit of effort, but it worked! In total, I think I used about 1-1.5 tsp of baking soda, and the same for tooth paste. I had both of these ingredients on hand, so basically this cost me nothing! I’ll also note that I did one small patch at a time, so that the paste did not soak in too much. It took me a total of maybe 30 minutes to clean the entire spot which was a good 6 inches by 6 inches large. Lastly, I did not do step 6 or 7 yet because very little of the wax actually came off. I probably will eventually wax the entire top of this piece of furniture though, for extra protection. This is a kid friendly home, after all. So here it is.. A NO CHEMICAL – FREE (basically) SOLUTION TO CLEANING WATER STAINS FROM WOOD.

MY NAME IS SHANNON, AND I APPROVE THIS PINTEREST FIND.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

