my guilty pleasure

Screen Shot 2016-02-24 at 3.37.32 PM

It’s been over a year without cable in our house. I don’t even miss it..in fact I feel so much more free! I used to have shows that I was so dedicated to watching every single week that I was pretty much committed to my television just about every night of the week. When we weren’t watching an actual show, we’d put CP24 on for background noise. The problem with this, is that it was SO DEPRESSING!! Honestly, there’s rarely anything good on the news, and I was starting to feel like this world is such a negative place where nothing good happens. I no longer feel this way, because I can pick and choose what I watch, when I watch and get specific news – online. Ahh..

Now, I won’t act as if we don’t watch TV anymore in this house, because WE DO! It’s just not scheduled television. Think netflix (LOVE LOVE LOVE) and online tv. This is sooooo much more practical for us because there’s zero obligation to be home, and we can be more productive with other things around the house.

Here’s my truth though… I really really really enjoy those moments when the kids are in bed, the kitchen is clean, the living room is vacuumed and it’s just me (sometimes hubby), the couch, and the TV. I love tuning out, and the one show I have yet to remove from my weekly schedule is The Bachelor/Bachelorette (I just watch it a day late usually, when it’s on the citytv website!). I actually don’t think I have missed a single season of this franchise. Maybe I am just a sucker for love… maybe, I love watching the train wrecks or perhaps it’s a combination of both. Screen Shot 2016-02-24 at 2.53.58 PM

BAHAHA. I mean, this picture pretty much sums up why I love this show!

There’s been some genuine success stories..marriages, babies, and so far – 0 divorces. Not too shabby, right? Yes, there’s been failures, a lot…. but hey, if you were single and had a chance to find love, and get equipped with an $80K diamond.. wouldn’t you give it a shot too? lol.

(Spoiler alert – don’t keep reading if you haven’t already watched… and if you have no interest in the show, I suggest you stop reading anyways otherwise you’ll get bored. I promise there are other more interesting posts to read, so until next time… 😉 )

Last night, I got caught up from Monday’s episode of The Bachelor and there’s absolutely no way this guy isn’t picking Lauren B. Sorry folks, but I’ve seen enough of these seasons to identify that look in the couples’ eyes when it’s for real. I can’t say any of the girls have wowed me this year either… even Amanda, the single mother of 2… she was super cute, but something was up with her. Sometimes, I think you’ve got to watch out for the “too good to be true” kind of girls. Even though Olivia was a total wack job on the show, I think she just got carried away with the fabrication of the show. I guarantee the producers fed her a lot of BS so that she fell harder than she otherwise would have. I also think she got “first impression rose syndrome”… for some reason the first impression rose people always get super confident early on… and then they spiral out of control.

I have a legitimate question about the recruitment process though…. is there a threshold for annual family income to be on the show? I mean, did you see the houses that these families live in? I had to stop and think about this for a bit because I was genuinely curious…and then it clicked. It’s so much easier for women to leave their careers/jobs behind for a few months when money isn’t an issue. Am I right? Like seriously.. I would love to audition for Big brother or even Survivor.. but there’s no way I can afford to quit my job for a pipe dream. I just can’t take that chance! These ladies have backers… Mom and Dad! Speaking of which… JoJo’s Mom seriously had me in tears..

Screen Shot 2016-02-24 at 3.09.04 PM

This is EXACTLY what I would be doing in that same situation. HAHA. And her Dad, is totally giving Mom the death stare. “LOOK WOMAN THERE ARE CAMERAS EVERYWHERE!” haha. too funny. I love it even more because after some research I found out these two are both Doctors! Bless them. Haha. And if it didn’t get any better… there was also this..

Screen Shot 2016-02-24 at 3.20.19 PM

Creepahhhhh!

LOL. Okay, so I’m not going to bore everyone with the full recap, but I do want to say that this show is my serious guilty pleasure!! I laugh, I cry, I roll my eyes….and it’s a wonderful escape from the realities of every day life. For the record, my favourite season so far was last year – Kaitlyn Bristowe. That girl is not only Canadian, but she’s so REAL. LOVE LOVE LOVE her. If you are a fan of the show and you have snapchat, I HIGHLY recommend following Kaitlyn and Shawn on snapchat. They are hilarious! Ashley and JP are probably a close second. 🙂

What is YOUR guilty pleasure? Let me know in the comments below!

 

Leave a Reply

